Kalidro from Steelcase - brodbeck design

Kalidro – desk system for Steelcase

Following a development phase of 18 months Kalidro was introduced Europe-wide in 2007. About 80,000 tables and 320,000 table legs are currently produced every year. A result to be proud of, not to mention its sustainability: 34% recycled materials, 150 t less CO2-emissions per year, and a recyclability of 99%. And a win-win situation for all involved: the manufacturer reduces its costs while improving its image, the client benefits from an improved price-performance ratio – and it is friendly to the environment.
The difference lies in the detail: the frame is made from iron (steel?) sheet instead of tubes. Iron (Steel?) sheets are not only better priced but also produce less waste. Reducing the thickness of the worktop from the usual 25 mm down to 19 mm means 25% less wood consumption and thus resource friendly. The design also benefits from these changes: the table looks lighter and more elegant. The knots are produced from 100% recycled aluminium and give the product its distinctive character.
„Efficiency stands for short-term; effectiveness for long-term. Thinking in terms of efficiency is ineffective. You always try to make do with less, to avoid, to save. But this is the wrong approach. Effectiveness, instead, means making things fundamentally right.“ This is brilliantly and convincingly analyzed in the book „Cradle to Cradle“, where  Michael Braungart, founder of EPEA Internationale Umweltforschung GmbH, Hamburg, analyzes the necessity of closed material cycles.

 

„Reduce to the max“

When searching for new approaches, brodbeck design first put each element to the test, questioned each function and studied corresponding alternatives. According to the principle „reduce to the max“, we developed our self-imposed criteria: highest levels of efficiency for materials and costs, ecology and sustainability as a strategic goal, and high demands on aesthetics. Less materials, less costs. The Kalidro example shows this simple causal link along with the factor of sustainability.

 

Awards

Kalidro has received many awards, the Focus Green Silver award 2008 and a nomination for Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland 2009.

menu

Kalidro von Steelcase - brodbeck design

Kalidro – Tischsystem für Steelcase

2007 wurde Kalidro nach 18 Monaten Entwicklungszeit europaweit eingeführt. Derzeit werden jährlich rund 80.000 Tische bzw. 320.000 Einzelfüße produziert. Ein stolzes Ergebnis, das außerdem noch nachhaltig ist: 34 % recycelte Materialien, 150 t weniger CO2-Emissionen pro Jahr, eine Wiederverwertbarkeit von 99 Prozent. Und eine Win-win-Situation für alle Beteiligten: Der Hersteller senkt Kosten und verbessert sein Image, der Kunde profitiert von einem verbesserten Preis-Leistungsverhältnis – und die Umwelt wird geschont.

Das Detail macht den Unterschied: So wurde etwa der Rahmen aus Blech statt aus Stahlrohr gefertigt, da gefaltetes oder abgekantetes Blech nicht nur wesentlich günstiger ist, sondern auch weniger Abfall produziert. Die Reduzierung der Plattenstärke von den üblichen 25 mm auf 19 mm bedeutete für die Umwelt 25% weniger Holzverbrauch und somit Schonung der Ressourcen. Dem Design kam dieser Schritt sichtbar zugute, da der Tisch leichter und eleganter wirkt. Die Knoten sind umweltschonend aus 100 % recyceltem Aluminium produziert und geben dem Produkt seinen unverwechselbaren Charakter.

„Effizienz steht für Kurzfristigkeit, Effektivität für Langfristigkeit. Das Effizienzdenken ist ein Mangelsystem. Man versucht, mit immer weniger von etwas auszukommen, zu vermeiden, zu sparen. Doch das ist der falsche Weg. Effektivität hingegen heißt, die Dinge grundlegend richtig zu machen.“ Michael Braungart, Gründer von EPEA Internationale Umweltforschung GmbH, Hamburg, hat die Notwendigkeit geschlossener Stoffkreisläufe in seinem Buch „Cradle to Cradle“ brillant und überzeugend analysiert.

 

“Reduce to the max”

Auf der Suche nach neuen Ansätzen stellte brodbeck design zunächst jedes Element auf den Prüfstand, hinterfragte jede Funktion und forschte nach entsprechenden Alternativen. Unter dem Motto „reduce to the max“ lauteten die selbst vorgegebenen Kriterien: größtmögliche Material- und Kosteneffizienz, Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit als strategisches Ziel und ein hoher ästhetischer Anspruch. Weniger Material, weniger Kosten. Dass zwischen dieser einfachen Gleichung und dem Faktor Nachhaltigkeit ein kausaler Zusammenhang besteht, lässt sich am Beispiel von Kalidro aufzeigen.

 


Awards

Kalidro wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet, zuletzt mit dem Focus Green Silver 2008 und der Nominierung für den „Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland“ 2009.

menu